Wednesday, June 24, 2009


The other thing I have been doing in the last 4 weeks is coming to terms with Type 2 Diabetes. My father is a type 2 diabetic as well. I was diagnosed 4 weeks ago and since then I have been working at trying to loose weight and get my blood sugar levels down.

I have now read quite a few books on this disease and I'm trying to manage it as best I can. Last Saturday 20th June I went to see a dietitian, the one thing he said to me is that we aren't going to manage the diabetes we are going to get rid of it.

This is very positive and I can say that I'm of the first eating plan that I have ever been on that doesn't leave you hungry. He was adamant that I eat at least 6 meals a day and they must be at the same time each day. Breakfast, Morning Tea, Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Dinner and Supper.

The eating plan must have no sugar and no fat. I have enough fat in my body I don't need to cook with fat or eat fat as this will only add more. I have alway been against eating "diet" stuff, as some of the chemicals leave alot to be desired, since my diagnosis, this has change a little and I am now eating and drinking some of the "diet stuff" in moderation. Diet Jelly is just fantastic to get rid of any hunger pangs and gives you a sweet treat. I also discovered diet Bundaberg Sarsparilla when I was in the supermarket the other day and this is a great treat with my diet Bundaberg Ginger Beer. I haven't eaten a lolly or chocolate since my diagnosis, I think i have broken this habit. My health is more important than both of these things.

I will stop boring you with my woes.

Oh and by the way I have lost 5 Kgs since being diagnosed. This is the first time in a few years I have been below 110kg.

Have a great day...


Monday, June 22, 2009


Where has the last 2 months gone? I haven't posted for awhile as my life is really hectic and we are going through lots of changes. Firstly due to the economic downturn we are going to have to close our shop. Business has been real slow for months and months. I'm still going to do scrapbooking classes but at home. I have a great group of ladies who regularly come to classes at night.

I have also got myself 2 other jobs to try and help make ends meet, I'm a Nanny for a family of 3 children, 2 year old twins and a 6 month old, two days per week. I also work 3 days a week at Funtime 4 Kids at Menai, making coffee, serving food and general duties. I love both of these new challenges, but I love funtime the best. At Funtime there is time to interact with adults and children alike, and I love a chat.

This has kept me very busy over the last two months, I will try to write more often but at the moment my time is very limited.

Have a great day...